There are multiple forms associated with Nevada Department of Agriculture's (NDA) Hemp Program. With the implementation of Nevada Senate Bill 396, the NDA is responsible for registering growers, seed producers, and handlers. There is a separate application for each category of licensure. These are as follows:
2024 Hemp Grower Application
You will need to file a grower’s application if you intend to grow hemp with the intent to harvest the crop for biomass. Harvesting viable seed for distribution/replication will require an additional licensure.
2024 Hemp Seed Producer Application
You will need to file a seed producer application if you intend on growing hemp to produce viable seed for resale/distribution.
You must be licensed as an hemp grower prior to being issued a seed production license.
2024 Hemp Handler's Application
You will need to file a handler’s application if you intend on receiving hemp for processing into commodities, products or agricultural hemp seed.
Examples of categories that would require a handling license: Seed conditioning, textile manufacturing, oil extraction, cosmetics, food products, animal products, etc.
February 1, 2024
ATTN: Industrial Hemp Handler Applicants
The Nevada Department of Agriculture missed a critical element in the 2024 Industrial Hemp Handler Application.
NAC 557.102(1)(c) requires that a Criminal History Report from the Nevada Department of Public Safety (DPS), that has been completed within 120 days prior to the date of application, be submitted at the time of their application as a requirement for certification. This requirement was not included on the 2024 applications but will be enforced from the date of this notice. In order to maintain compliance with state and federal hemp laws, the NDA will be requiring all applicants to submit a Criminal History Report to the NDA at the time of their application as a requirement for certification.**
**This requirement is mandatory, failure to adhere will result in delays or rejection of certification.
NAC 557.102 Application for registration: Contents; conditions for approval; consequences for material falsification of information. (NRS 557.200, 557.260)
1. In addition to any other requirements set forth in chapter 557 of NRS or NAC 587.450 to 587.491, inclusive, an application submitted to the Department for registration as a grower, handler or producer must:
(c) Be accompanied by a criminal history report of the applicant, or, if the applicant is a business entity, a criminal history report of one key participant of the applicant. The criminal history report must have been completed within 120 days immediately preceding the date on which the application is submitted. The applicant or key participant must not have any change in his or her criminal history between the date on which the criminal history report was completed and the date on which the application is submitted.
If you have any questions, please reach out to firstname.lastname@example.org.
Hemp Harvest Report
A harvest report is used by an active grower/seed producer and must be submitted to the Department of Agriculture 30 days prior to crop/seed harvest.
Complete forms can be mailed to the following address:
Nevada Department of Agriculture
Attn: Hemp Program
405 S. 21st Street
Sparks, NV 89431
Forms can be scanned and emailed to email@example.com.