Nevada Animal Import Requirements


All CVI’s, test results and other supporting documents (as required by species below) must be legible and faxed/e-mailed to the permit office before a permit number can be issued.  

Fax #: 775-353-3659
E-mail: entrypermits@agri.nv.gov  

 

Entry permits will only be issued during normal business hours M-F, 8:00am – 5:00 pm PST. We are closed on weekends and all major holidays. 

 

*If you do not receive a response within 24 hours of submission during normal business hours, please call 775-353-3709* 

** Unapproved Forms** ** Effective March 21, 2018, Nevada no longer accepts certificates submitted on the APHIS 7001 forms** 

    IMPORTANT INFORMATION

    • New (Additional) Entry Requirements for species susceptible to vesicular stomatitis, updated 8/28/20
      • Any susceptible livestock, including equine, bovine, porcine, caprine, ovine, and cervidae entering Nevada from a state where vesicular stomatitis has been diagnosed since April 13, 2020 shall be inspected by an accredited veterinarian and accompanied by a CVI dated within fourteen 14 days of entry. The CVI shall include the following statement: “All animals identified on this certificate of veterinary inspection have been inspected within 14 days of shipment, and found to be free from clinical signs of vesicular stomatitis. During the last 14 days, these animals have not been exposed to VS nor located on a VS confirmed or VS suspected premises."
       
    • New Entry Requirements for rabbits, hares, and associated products and equipment, Updated 8/28/20
      1. All rabbits and hares require a Certificate of Veterinary Inspection. All rabbits and hares originating from states or countries where RHD has been diagnosed in the prior 12 months must have a CVI, and be inspected by an accredited veterinarian within the 72 hours prior to entering Nevada. The Certificate of Veterinary Inspection must include a statement by an accredited veterinarian certifying that: 
        • All rabbits and hares in the shipment have been examined for, and found free of communicable diseases; and 
        • All rabbits and hares have originated from a single premises that has no signs of a communicable disease; and 
        • There have been no movements of rabbits and/or hares onto the premises over the prior 30 days; and
        • The animals have had no contact with wild rabbits or hares in the past 30 days.
         
      2. No rabbits and hares or rabbit and hare products (meat, pelts, hides, carcasses, etc) and equipment or other items or associated materials may enter Nevada from a premises known to be affected with RHD.
       

      Traceability for Livestock moving Interstate (effective 3/11/13):

      Official identification is required for the following cattle and their official ID has to be recorded on the health certificate: 

      1. All sexually intact beef cattle 18 months of age and over
      2. All dairy cattle of any age
      3. All cattle used for rodeo, show or exhibition  NOTE: Additional requirements are required for any livestock imported for rodeos, shows, and/or exhibition. See special requirements listed below under "Rodeo/Show/Event Livestock"

        Acceptable forms of identification: 

        1. Official eartags: metal (NUES) or 840-compliant (RFID or visual).
        2. Official USDA backtags for cattle moving directly to slaughter
        3. Registered breed tattoos when accompanied by certificate.
        4. Orange brucellosis vaccinate tags (RFID or metal) for official calfhood vaccinates (OCV).

          Beef Cattle/Bison

          1. Health Certificate- A legible CVI must be faxed/emailed to the permit office before a permit number can be issued.
          2. Entry Permit
          3. All sexually intact beef cattle 18 months of age and older require official identification and their official ID must be recorded on the CVI. All bison must be officially ID’d with the ID listed on the CVI.
          4. All sexually intact females 12 months and older must be official brucellosis calfhood vaccinates (OCV) with a legible ear tattoo and brucellosis ear tag. All sexually intact weaned heifers 4 months of age or older must be OCV’d and have a legible ear tattoo and brucellosis ear tag. The statement “These cattle/bison are OCV’d” must be written on the CVI. Adult vaccinates are not allowed entry into Nevada.
          5. Any cattle/bison arriving from ID, WY, or MT that haven’t originated from a Designated Brucellosis Surveillance Area (DSA) must have the statement “These cattle/bison did not originate from the DSA” written on the CVI. Sexually intact cattle or bison of any age moving from a DSA require a negative brucellosis test within 30 days prior to entry into Nevada. Legible test results must be faxed/e-mailed to the permit office before a permit number can be issued.
          6. All bison, regardless of state of origin, that are 12 months and older must have a negative TB and brucellosis test within 30 days prior to entry. Legible test results must be faxed/e-mailed to the permit office before a permit number can be issued.

            Steers:

            1. Health Certificate- A legible CVI must be faxed/emailed to the permit office before a permit number can be issued.
            2. Entry Permit 
            3. All dairy steers, regardless of age, must be officially ID’d.

              Heifers/Including Bison:

              1. Health Certificate- A legible CVI must be faxed/emailed to the permit office before a permit number can be issued.
              2. Entry permit
              3. All sexually intact beef heifers 18 months or older must be officially ID’d and the official ID must be listed on the CVI. All bison heifers must be officially ID’d with the ID listed on the CVI.
              4. All dairy heifers of any age require official identification and their official ID must be recorded on the health certificate.
              5. All dairy heifers 6 months of age or older must have a negative TB test within 30 days prior to entry. Legible TB test result forms must be faxed/e-mailed to the permit office before a permit number can be issued.
              6. All sexually intact females 12 months and older must be official brucellosis calfhood vaccinates (OCV) with a legible ear tattoo and brucellosis ear tag. All weaned sexually intact cattle/bison heifers 4 months of age or older must be official brucellosis calfhood vaccinates (OCV) with a legible ear tattoo and brucellosis ear tag. The statement “These cattle/bison are OCV’d” must be written on the CVI. Adult vaccinates are not allowed entry into Nevada.
              7. Any cattle/bison arriving from ID, WY, or MT that haven’t originated from a Designated Brucellosis Surveillance Area (DSA) must have the statement “These cattle/bison did not originate from the DSA” written on the CVI. Sexually intact cattle or bison of any age moving from a DSA require a negative brucellosis test within 30 days prior to entry into the state. Legible test results must be faxed/e-mailed to the permit office before a permit number can be issued.
              8. All bison, regardless of state of origin, that are 12 months and older must have a negative TB and brucellosis test within 30 days prior to entry. Legible test results must be faxed/e-mailed to the permit office before a permit number can be issued.

                Mexican Cattle:

                1. Health Certificate- A legible CVI must be faxed/emailed to the permit office before a permit number can be issued.
                2. Entry permit
                3. Only spayed heifers and steers allowed entry into Nevada.
                4. Animals must be “M” branded on right hip
                5. Negative TB test within 12 months before entry. Legible TB test result forms must be faxed/e-mailed to the permit office before a permit number can be issued.
                6. All cattle used for rodeos, shows and exhibitions of any age require official identification and their official ID must be recorded on the health certificate.
                7. Mexican cattle must not be co-pastured with any Nevada breeding cattle.

                  Canadian Cattle:

                  1. Health Certificate- A legible CVI must be faxed/emailed to the permit office before a permit number can be issued.
                  2. Entry permit
                  3. All animals must be individually identified as approved by USDA.
                  4. Individual ID must be listed on the CVI.
                  5. All cattle except for immediate slaughter require a CAN brand on the right tail head.
                  6. Registered cattle may enter without a CAN brand if they have a ‘CAN’ tattoo.
                  7. Slaughter cattle must be delivered directly to the slaughter facility and may not be diverted without written permission from the State Veterinarian
                  8. Sexually intact females 12 months and older and not being delivered directly to a slaughter facility must be official brucellosis calfhood vaccinates (OCV) with a legible ear tattoo and OCV ear tag. All weaned sexually intact heifers 4 months of age or older must be official brucellosis calfhood vaccinates (OCV) with a legible ear tattoo and brucellosis ear tag. The statement “These cattle are OCV’d” must be written on the CVI. Adult vaccinates are not allowed entry into Nevada.
                  9. Sexually intact dairy cattle 6 months or older must have a negative TB within 30 days prior to entry into the state. Legible TB test result forms must be faxed/e-mailed to the permit office before issuing a permit number.
                  10. Bulls 12 Months or older MUST be T. fetus tested within 60 days prior to entry into Nevada and have a T. fetus control program tag in the right ear. Legible T. fetus test results need to be faxed/e-mailed to the permit desk prior to issuance of a permit number.

                    Dairy Breeding Cattle:

                    1. Health Certificate- A legible CVI must be faxed/emailed to the permit office before a permit number can be issued.
                    2. Entry permit
                    3. Sexually intact dairy cattle 6 months or older must have a negative TB within 30 days prior to entry into the state. Legible TB test result forms must be faxed/e-mailed to the permit office before issuing a permit number.
                    4. All dairy animals of any age require official identification and their official ID must be recorded on the health certificate.
                    5. Sexually intact females 12 months and older must be official brucellosis calf hood vaccinates (OCV) with a legible ear tattoo and brucellosis ear tag. All sexually intact weaned heifers 4 months of age or older must be OCV’d and have a legible ear tattoo and brucellosis ear tag. The statement “These cattle are OCV’d” must be written on the CVI. Adult vaccinates are not allowed entry into Nevada.
                    6. Any cattle arriving from ID, WY, or MT that haven’t originated from a Designated Brucellosis Surveillance Area (DSA) must have the statement “These cattle did not originate from the DSA” written on the CVI. Sexually intact cattle of any age moving from a DSA require a negative brucellosis test within 30 days prior to entry into the state. Legible test results must be faxed/e-mailed to the permit office before a permit number can be issued.

                      Bulls/Bison:

                      1. Health Certificate- A legible CVI must be faxed/emailed to the permit office before a permit number can be issued.
                      2. Entry Permit
                      3. Bulls 12 Months or older MUST be T. fetus tested within 60 days prior to entry into Nevada and tagged with either a T.fetus control program tag or for states that don’t have state-approved trich program tags a NUES (Silver-Brite) tag in the right ear. Legible T. fetus test results need to be faxed/e-mailed to the permit desk prior to issuance of a permit number.
                      4. Individual ‘In Pouch’ Tests or individual RT-PCR tests accepted. Pooled PCR test results (up to 5 samples per pool) will be accepted in single-owner herds that have no history of a positive trichomoniasis test within the 12 months prior to the permit request. The veterinarian must write a statement verifying that the herd has met this requirement on the CVI.
                      5. Bulls need to be individually identified on T. fetus test chart and health certificate needs to reference the T. fetus test chart.
                      6. All dairy bulls 6 months or older must react negatively to a test for tuberculosis within 30 days prior to entry into the state. Legible TB test result forms must be faxed/e-mailed to the permit office before a permit number can be issued.
                      7. All dairy animals of any age require official identification and their official ID must be recorded on the health certificate.
                      8. Any cattle/bison arriving from ID, WY, or MT that haven’t originated from a Designated Brucellosis Surveillance Area (DSA) must have the statement “These cattle/bison did not originate from the DSA” written on the CVI. Sexually intact cattle/bison of any age moving from a DSA require a negative brucellosis test within 30 days prior to entry into the state. Legible test results must be faxed/e-mailed to the permit office before a permit number can be issued.
                      9. Bison bulls are not required to be T. fetus tested prior to entry into Nevada.
                      10. All bison, regardless of state of origin, that are 12 months and older must have a negative TB and brucellosis test within 30 days prior to entry. Legible test results must be faxed/e-mailed to the permit office before a permit number can be issued.

                        Rodeo/Show/Event Livestock:

                        1. Health certificate- A legible CVI must be faxed/emailed to the permit office before a permit number can be issued.
                        2. Entry permit
                        3. All sexually intact animals 12 months and older require an annual TB and brucellosis test within 12 months prior to entry into Nevada. Legible test results must be faxed/e-mailed to the permit desk before a permit number can be issued.
                        4. Sexually intact dairy cattle 6 months of age or older must have a negative TB within 30 days prior to entry into the state. Legible TB test result forms must be faxed/e-mailed to the permit office before issuing a permit number.
                        5. Sexually intact females 12 months and older must be official brucellosis calf hood vaccinates (OCV) with a legible ear tattoo and brucellosis ear tag. All sexually intact weaned heifers 4 months of age or older must be OCV’d and have a legible ear tattoo and brucellosis ear tag. The statement “These cattle are OCV’d” must be written on the CVI. Nevada does not accept adult vaccinates.
                        6. All cattle used for rodeos, shows and exhibitions of any age require official identification. All animals must be individually identified on health certificate.

                          Rodeo/Show Bulls can be exempt from T. fetus regulation under the following conditions:

                          1. Not being sold.
                          2. No contact with females.
                          3. No pasturing while in Nevada.
                          4. Leave Nevada immediately after show.
                          5. Veterinarians have to add the following disclaimer on the CVI: - ‘Not for sale or breeding in NV’

                            Yaks

                            1. CVI- A legible CVI must be faxed/emailed to the permit office before a permit number can be issued.
                            2. Entry permit.
                            3. Sexually intact females 12 months of age and older are required to be official brucellosis calfhood vaccinates (OCV) with a legible ear tattoo and brucellosis ear tag. All sexually intact weaned heifers 4 months of age or older must be OCV’d. The statement “These animals are OCV’d” must be written on the CVI. Nevada does not accept adult vaccinates.
                            4. Any yaks arriving from ID, WY, or MT that haven’t originated from a Designated Brucellosis Surveillance Area (DSA) must have the statement “These yaks did not originate from the DSA” written on the CVI. Sexually intact yaks of any age moving from a DSA require a negative brucellosis test within 30 days prior to entry into the state. Legible test results must be faxed/e-mailed to the permit office before a permit number can be issued.
                            5. All sexually intact yaks 6 months of age and older must have a negative TB test within 30 days prior to entry. Legible test results must be submitted to the permit office before a permit number can be issued.
                            6. All yaks, regardless of age, must be officially ID’d and ID’s must be recorded on the CVI.

                              Pasture-to-pasture (Commuter) permits:

                              1. For established breeding herds only.
                              2. A permit application can be downloaded from this website or call 775-353-3709 to have a copy faxed.
                              3. Permit application and T. fetus test chart must be faxed to 775-353-3659 or emailed to entrypermits@agri.nv.gov prior to a permit number being issued. Bulls need to be tested annually between October 1 of the previous year and May 31 of the current year or within 60 days prior to entry into Nevada.

                                Goats:

                                1. Health Certificate- A legible CVI must be faxed/emailed to the permit office before a permit number can be issued.
                                2. Entry Permit
                                3. Dairy or sexually intact goats – 6 months of age or older must have a negative TB and brucellosis test within 30 days prior to entry. Legible test results must be faxed/e-mailed to the permit office before a permit number can be issued.
                                4. All goats need to be officially identified using scrapie tags and all tags must be listed on the CVI. A legible USDA-assigned premises tattoo is acceptable if linked to a scrapie premise/flock ID and listed on the CVI. Breed registry tattoos are acceptable if accompanied by the registry certificate and the certificate number listed on the CVI. USDA-assigned and breed registry tattoos are not acceptable if animals are going to a livestock market.
                                5. Scrapie statement must be on health certificate:
                                         “The animal(s) do not exhibit clinical signs of scrapie at the time of the exam. The animals on the certificate did not originate from a herd/flock that has been diagnosed as a scrapie source, infected or exposed, herd/flock.”      

                                  Sheep:

                                  1. Health Certificate- A legible CVI must be faxed/emailed to the permit office before a permit number can be issued.
                                  2. Entry Permit
                                  3. All sheep need to be officially identified with scrapie tags. All scrapie tags need to be listed on the health certificate. A legible USDA-assigned tattoo is acceptable if linked to a scrapie premise/flock and listed on the CVI. Breed registry tattoos are acceptable if accompanied by the registry certificate and the certificate number is written on the CVI. USDA-assigned and breed registry tattoos are not acceptable if animals are going to a livestock market.
                                  4. Check for foot rot. A foot rot statement must be written on CVI: “All animals were inspected and found to be free of clinical signs of foot rot.”
                                  5. Scrapie statement must be on health certificate:                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                       "The animal(s) do not exhibit clinical signs of scrapie at the time of the exam. The animals on the certificate did not originate from a herd/flock that has been diagnosed as a scrapie source, infected or exposed, herd/flock."                                                                                                                             
                                  6. All rams 6 months of age or older must test negative for Brucella ovis on the Enzyme Linked Immunosorbent Assay (ELISA) within 30 days prior to entry into the State. Legible test results must be faxed/e-mailed to the permit office before a permit number can be issued.  

                                    Swine:

                                    1. Health Certificate- A legible CVI must be faxed/emailed to the permit office before a permit number can be issued.
                                    2. Entry Permit
                                    3. All pigs must be officially identified with either an 840 ear tag, NUES tag, PIN tag or tattoo, registry tattoo, or registered ear notch with ID listed on the CVI.
                                    4. Pot bellies are included in these requirements regardless of weight. PB pigs can be ID’d using a microchip but the chip number must be written on the CVI.
                                    5. Feeder swine – swine less than four (4) months of age which are intended for feeding purposes. Upon arrival in Nevada, feeder swine must be restricted to the premises of their destination in Nevada until they are moved directly to slaughter or to a market.
                                    6. The following statements must be written on the CVI:
                                      1. “Swine have not been fed untreated food waste”
                                      2. “Swine have not been exposed to swine fed untreated food waste”.
                                      3. “Swine have not been vaccinated for pseudorabies”.

                                      Dogs/Cats/Ferrets:

                                      1. Health Certificate
                                      2. Rabies must be current (as per the most recent edition of the Compendium of Animal Rabies Prevention and Control)
                                      3. Permit not required

                                        International Travel:

                                        Questions about international travel need to be directed to USDA. Contact USDA at 1-877-741-3690. Only an accredited veterinarian may issue a health certificate for interstate or international travel. USDA charges an endorsement fee for all international CVI’s.

                                        www.aphis.usda.gov/aphis/pet-travel.
                                        https://jav.ma/APHISvehcs (PDF)
                                        https://www.aphis.usda.gov/aphis/ourfocus/importexport/animal-import-and-export/equine/bring-horses-into-us

                                          Horses/Mules/Asses:

                                          1. Health Certificate
                                          2. Negative Coggins (ELISA or AGID) within 12 months prior to entry.
                                          3. Proof of ownership (brand inspection certificate, bill of sale, registration papers, Coggins test result form).
                                          4. Requirements include Zebras.
                                          5. EXEMPT: Nursing foals less than 6 months and accompanied by the dam and the dam has tested negatively to such a test.

                                            Llamas/Alpacas:

                                            1. Health Certificate

                                              Big Cats (Tigers, Lions, Cheetahs, Cougars; etc):

                                              1. Health certificate- A legible CVI must be faxed/emailed to the permit office before a permit number can be issued.
                                              2. Copy of USDA license (if required) for the facility that the animal is going to.
                                              3. USDA license written on the CVI.
                                              4. Entry permit

                                                Reindeer for Shows:

                                                1. Health Certificate- A legible CVI must be faxed/emailed to the permit office before a permit number can be issued.
                                                2. Entry permit
                                                3. Negative TB and brucellosis tests within 12 months prior to entry. Legible test results must be faxed/e-mailed to the permit office before a permit number can be issued.
                                                4. Originates from a CWD certified free herd.

                                                  Primates:

                                                  1. Health Certificate- A legible CVI must be faxed/emailed to the permit office before a permit number can be issued.
                                                  2. Entry permit.
                                                  3. Negative TB within 12 months prior to entry. Legible TB test results must be submitted to the permit office before a permit can be issued.
                                                  4. USDA lab registration number/ supplier’s USDA license number listed on the CVI.

                                                    Poultry and Game Birds:

                                                    1. CVI or VS Form 9-3.
                                                    2. Negative tests for Salmonella pullorum-typhoid, Mycoplasma gallisepticum & synoviae, and Avian Influenza within 30 days prior to entry.   

                                                          One-day old chicks and eggs (Poultry and Game Birds):

                                                    1. Must originate from flock participating in the NPIP. VS Form 9-3 or CVI (NPIP flock number must be written on CVI).
                                                    2. Flock must meet NPIP testing requirements for Salmonella pullorum-typhoid and Mycoplasma gallisepticum and synoviae.      
                                                     

                                                      Psittacines and Ratites

                                                      1. CVI

                                                        Elephants

                                                        1. CVI- A legible CVI must be faxed/emailed to the permit office before a permit number can be issued.
                                                        2. Entry permit
                                                        3. Need a TB test within 12 months prior to entry. Legible test results must be faxed/e-mailed to the permit office before a permit number can be issued. 

                                                          Reptiles

                                                          1. CVI

                                                            Zoo Animals

                                                            1. CVI – A legible CVI must be faxed/emailed to the permit office before a permit number can be issued.
                                                            2. Entry permit.
                                                            3. Shipper must submit list of animals in shipment to permit desk prior to issuing of permit. Further testing/vaccination requirements may be indicated depending on the species shipped.

                                                              Rabbits

                                                              1. CVI
                                                              2. Rabbits originating from states (or countries) that have had RHDV2 detections require a CVI within 72 hours of entering Nevada. See the ‘Important Information’ section above that details the updated entry requirements for rabbits entering Nevada from states affected by RHDV2.

                                                                Foxes, Raccoons, Skunks

                                                                Importation of these animals is prohibited

                                                                  Species not listed here:

                                                                  Please contact the permit office at 775-353-3709 or entrypermits@agri.nv.gov for specific requirements