Livestock Identification FAQs

Do I have to brand my livestock?

Although you may record a brand and brand your livestock, you do not have to brand livestock UNLESS your livestock are running on open rangelands.

How do I get a brand?

Click here to obtain the Brand Registration application form.  Print, complete it and submit it with the $120 registration fee to the Elko office of the NV Dept. of Agriculture or, call our Brand Recorder at (775) 738-8076.

How do I transfer a brand?

Click here for the Brand Transfer form. Fill out the form, print it and send it to the Elko office address with the $120 transfer fee. Or, call the Brand Recorder at the Elko office, (775) 738-8076.

How do you transfer a brand when there is a death?

Contact our Brand Recorder at (775) 738-8076.

How do I get a duplicate certificate?

Contact our Brand Recorder at (775) 738-8076.

How long are recorded brands good for?

All brands in Nevada expire at the same time every four years. There is no grace period. Currently all brands will expire December 31, 2015.

When do I need a brand inspection?

Nevada Revised Statute 565 requires a brand inspection be done by a Department of Agriculture inspector before cattle or horses are transported out of a brand district or across state lines, before cattle are slaughtered, and whenever a change of ownership takes place. You may review the applicable statutes by going to the website above and clicking on the Livestock Identification home page.

How do I find phone numbers for my local brand inspectors?

Click here for brand inspector contact information, or, call the State Brand office at (775) 738-8076.

Does the Brand Department have enforcement?

Yes, the Department of Agriculture, Division of Livestock Identification has certified law enforcement officers who may stop vehicles in enforcement of animal and plant quarantine laws, animal ownership (brand inspection) certificates, perform investigations into stolen livestock, search and seizure, and may make arrests.

What do I do if I find stray livestock?

Contact the Brands office at (775) 738-8076 or your local brand inspector.

How do I find out where the Brand District lines are?

You may look at our Livestock Transportation brochure on the website above, call the Brand office at (775) 738-8076, or contact your local brand inspector.

Is there any provision for movement of livestock or horses on a regular or re-occurring basis?

Yes, for cattle movement across district lines or to a livestock auction yard you may apply for a Livestock Movement Permit from the Brand office in Elko. The cattle must have a healed and peeled brand on them registered to you and will be inspected at the auction yard.

Annual and Lifetime horse transportation permits are available for $25 & $50 for each horse and are honored in all western states. You may call your local brand inspector or the Brand office in Elko for to obtain these permits.  Click here to find out more on livestock transportation requirements.