NDA COVID-19 Operational Status

Last updated: March 31
The Nevada Department of Agriculture is currently operating at a limited capacity with most employees working from home per Governor Sisolak’s directive on March 15. All offices are still closed to the public, and services that protect public health and continuity of commerce are being prioritized. Some services will not be available during this time, and response times may be slowed. All staff are adhering to strict social distancing guidelines, as directed by the governor.

The NDA services listed below are considered essential functions and will remain available in some capacity for matters that require immediate attention. Offices will be closed, so please call in advance.

Please click here for a list of our agency recommendations for essential businesses.

Animal Disease Lab

Please call the Animal Disease Lab at 775-353-3709 for any immediate animal disease concerns related to testing for:

  • Rabies 
  • Aerobic and Anaerobic Cultures
  • Parasitology
  • T. foetus Culture or RT-PCR
  • Equine Infectious Anemia (EIA)
  • Brucellosis
  • Serology
  • Necropsy

Livestock Inspections

Please call your nearest district brand inspector or the Elko NDA office at 775-738-8076 to schedule brand inspections or request movement permits.

Entry Permits and Pasture to Pasture Permits

Please call 775-778-0277, email entrypermits@agri.nv.gov or fax 775-353-3659 for permits.

Federal School and Community Nutrition

Delivery will continue to partner and sponsor sites and we will coordinate feeding plans. If you have immediate questions or concerns about school or community nutrition interruptions, please call 702-668-4582 or email dhogan@agri.nv.gov.

Food Distribution on Indian Reservations (FDPIR)

Certification and distribution of food will continue at all sites. We ask that recipients not exit their vehicle at drop off location, just pull your car up to the back of the truck or behind the next car in line. For more information please contact Devin Wilcox-McCombs at 775-353-3724 or dwilcox@agri.nv.gov.

Food Safety

Food safety testing and meat and poultry inspections will continue. To schedule inspections or for immediate concerns, please contact Anna Vickrey at 775-353-3605 or email avickrey@agri.nv.gov.

Hemp Program

Hemp harvest inspections will continue, and the Chemistry Laboratory will be available for hemp compliance testing. For immediate concerns, please contact Audrey Blondfield at ablondfield@agri.nv.gov.

Pesticides

Staff will be available for pesticide investigations, spill concerns and pesticide exposure testing. Please contact Bret Allen at bret.allen@agri.nv.gov for concerns related to pesticides.

Wood destroying pest inspection reports and green tags for C3-Structural licensees may be requested by calling and leaving a voicemail at our Las Vegas office: (702) 668-4590. The voicemail will be checked and reports and tags will be mailed out every Thursday.

Crop Inspections

Phytosanitary and shipping point export inspections will continue as needed. Please contact Nick Bieser in southern Nevada at nbieser@agri.nv.gov and Sheryl Hunnewell in northern Nevada at shunnewell@agri.nv.gov to schedule an appointment.

Sample Submissions for Identification

Because NDA offices are still closed to the public, we are not accepting samples at our office locations. Please contact the appropriate staff member listed below for guidance on how to submit virtual or physical samples.

Entomology
Staff is available to process insect/spider identification samples on a priority basis. Please contact Jeff Knight at jknight@agri.nv.gov or 775-848-2592 for further instructions.

Plant Pathology
Staff will be available to support essential functions. If you need help with plant disease diagnosis, please call Shouhua Wang at 775-846-2018 for diagnosis and/or email pictures of diseased plants to shwang@agri.nv.gov.

Seed and Crop certifications
Please contact Russ Wilhelm at 775-750-5910 or email rwilhelm@agri.nv.gov for services related to native seeds, seed certification, and allium crop inspections.

Consumer Equitability

Please contact 775-353-3783 for any concerns regarding accuracy of scales, gas pumps, etc. Price gouging should be reported to the Attorney General’s office at 702-486-3132.