Livestock and Agriculture Product Licensing
- If you have questions regarding licensing, please contact:
The Nevada Department of Agriculture (NDA) is responsible for issuing agent, dealer, and public livestock auction licenses. State law requires that every agent and dealer file an application with the Department for a license to transaction business. Furthermore, a person shall not hold, operate, conduct or carry on a public livestock auction in this state without first securing a license from the Department.
Online Livestock Licensing System
Applications and payments for agent, dealer and public livestock auction licenses are now only processed through our online livestock licensing system.
Click here to apply for an agent, dealer or public livestock auction license.
Our online Livestock Licensing system accepts e-checks, American Express, Visa, Mastercard and Discover for payment. All fees are non-refundable.
|| $ 25.00
|Public Livestock Auction
Registered Livestock/Agriculture Product Dealers (Interstate Commerce)
Livestock Dealers: Provide a copy of your surety bond (PDF) filed with the USDA, Packers and Stockyards Administration. The amount of the bond will be established by the Packers and Stockyards Administration based on the applicants' annual volume of purchase but in no case must be bond be less than $10,000 as established by Nevada Revised Statute. Packers & Stockyards telephone number 303-375-4241.
Agriculture Product Dealers: Provide a copy of your surety bond (PDF) or other security agreement issued by a surety company, in no case less than $10,000 as established by Nevada Revised Statue.
Livestock/Agriculture Product Dealer(operating solely within the State of Nevada): Provide a copy of your surety bond (PDF) or other security agreement issued by a surety company doing business in Nevada in the amount based on the formula used by the Packers and Stockyards Administration, but in no case less than $10,000 as established by Nevada Revised Statute.
Public Livestock Auction
A person or company wishing to hold a Public Livestock auction in this State must be licensed by the Department. If the licensee buys or sells in interstate commerce, on a commission basis, an applicant must deliver to the Director one of the following: A surety bond pursuant to the provisions of NRS 573.033: A bond approved by the Secretary of Agriculture of the United States pursuant to the provisions of NRS 573.035; A deposit receipt pursuant to the provisions of NRS 573.037. Whichever bonding option chosen by the applicant must be in the amount of $200,000 or more but less than $1,000,000. A public livestock auction must maintain and provide proof at the time of application of a line of credit established at a bank or credit union in the State of Nevada in the amount of $400,000 or more.
Bond equivalents such as a Trust Agreement with Letters of Credit or Trust Fund Agreements may name the Nevada Department of Agriculture as trustee. (NRS 573.035)The amount of the bond will be determined by the annual volume of business or first time estimate, but must not be less than $10,000.
If a Timed Certificate of Deposit is used as the bond, it must be payable to the licensee and the Nevada Department of Agriculture. The original certificate will be held by the Department for a minimum of one year.
State Laws and Regulations