Nevada Nursery Stock Dealer License & Seed Retailer/Wholesaler License Application



Division of Plant Health & Compliance

State of Nevada nursery laws require any person who engages in the commercial production, holding, distribution, collection or selling of nursery stock to obtain a nursery stock dealer license. Licenses are issued according to the state fiscal year and **expire on June 30 of each year.** All renewals not paid in full by the expiration date are subject to a \$75 late fee. A separate license and fee are required for each business location.

License type

Use the information below to determine your business type and the required fee:

- Registered place of business: Includes retail nurseries and stores, grocers, drug stores, wholesale and retail growers, greenhouse operations, landscape contractors, landscape maintenance companies, etc. A license is required for each business location.
- **Peddler:** Includes businesses that solicit, sell or offer for sale nursery stock *directly to the public* and do not have a business located in Nevada. Wholesale growers with valid nursery licenses issued by another state department of agriculture who sell *only* to businesses holding valid Nevada nursery stock dealer license are exempt and do not have to obtain a Nevada nursery stock dealer license.
- **Broker:** Includes businesses that act for others in negotiating for the purchase or sale of nursery stock and do not handle either the nursery stock or the proceeds of the sale.
- State or local government entity such as conservation district, forestry division, school programs, etc.

License fees

Nevada nursery stock dealer licenses are annual licenses and are issued for the State of Nevada fiscal year. Licenses expire on **June 30**. Renewal notices are mailed to each licensee in May.

| License type | Base license fee |
|--|---|
| Registered place of business | \$175.00 |
| Registered place of business with occasional sales less than \$1,000/year | \$0.00 |
| Peddler | \$250.00 |
| Broker | \$250.00 |
| State or local government entity | \$0.00 |
| Nevada production acres: for each acre of nursery stock in production, or portion thereof after the first acre | \$25/acre, up to a maximum of \$250.00 - Add to base license fee. |

| Business name: | | | |
|---|--|-------------------------------|---|
| License name(s) (owner of business to be | | | |
| Nevada location (must be a physical addre | | | |
| address if you do not have an actual store-fro | ont or office space): | | |
| Street | City | State | Zip |
| Is this address where business records | • | | • |
| location where records for this busine | | <u> </u> | 1 |
| Nevada mailing address (if different from | m above): | | |
| Street | City | State | Zip |
| Nevada phone(s): | _ Cell phone: | Fax: | |
| Nevada location email (if applicable): _ | | | |
| Website (if applicable): | | | |
| Manager or contact at the address sho | | | |
| Manager or contact phone (if different f | from above): | | |
| Corporate information (if different from | above): | | |
| | | | |
| Street / PO Box | City | State | Zip |
| Street / PO Box Corporate phone: | • | | - |
| Corporate phone: | Fa | nx: | |
| Corporate phone: | Fan | usiness communications and no | otice of important industr |
| Corporate phone: Corporate email: NOTICE: The Nevada Department of Agriculture (NDA updates. By providing your email address, you agree to a | A) requires an email address for b receive communications from the our business. | usiness communications and no | otice of important industr |
| Corporate phone: Corporate email: NOTICE: The Nevada Department of Agriculture (NDA updates. By providing your email address, you agree to industry updates and notice of items that could impact your email. | A) requires an email address for b receive communications from the our business. | usiness communications and no | otice of important industry NOT want to receive |

Please check the appropriate license type. See page 1 for an explanation of license types and fees. Questions? Please call (702) 668-4588.

| If application is for this type of license (check the appropriate box): | | Pay this |
|---|---|----------|
| | Registered place of business (RPB) | \$175.00 |
| | Registered place of business (RPB) with occasional sales of less than \$1,000 per year | \$0.00 |
| | Nevada Production Acres: #of acres X \$25.00 = \$ (maximum \$250.00). Add to base RPB license fee. | + \$ |
| | Peddler | \$250.00 |
| | Broker | \$250.00 |
| | State or local government entity | \$0.00 |
| Tot | tal amount due: | = \$ |

Seed Retailer & Wholesaler Licensing

State seed law requires any person who engages in seed sales, both at the retail and wholesale level, to obtain a license to do so. Licenses are issued according to the state fiscal year and **expire on June 30 of each year.** All renewals not paid in full by the expiration date are subject to a \$75 late fee. A separate license and fee are required for each business location.

License type

Use the information below to determine your business type and the required fee:

- **Seed Retailer:** A person who sells seed in Nevada directly to a consumer.
- **Seed Wholesaler:** A person who sells seed in Nevada for resale to retailers, distributors, brokers or other wholesalers.

License fees

Nevada seed retailer/wholesaler licenses are annual licenses and are issued for the State of Nevada fiscal year. Licenses expire on **June 30**. Renewal notices are mailed to each licensee in May.

| License type | Base license fee |
|-----------------|------------------|
| Seed Retailer | \$75.00 |
| Seed Wholesaler | \$750.00 |

Type of business

Mark the number(s) which best describe(s) your business:

- 1. \square Exclusively offers seed for sale on a retail basis;
- 2. \square Exclusively offers seed for sale on a wholesale basis;
- 3.

 Full-service nursery/garden center with nursery and seed stock;
- 4.

 Home improvement center/hardware store with nursery and seed stock

Please check the appropriate license type and enclose with this application the total license fees from each applicable section. See the previous page for an explanation of license types and fees. Questions? Please call (775) 353-3711.

| If the application is for this type of license (check the appropriate box): | | Pay this |
|---|---|----------|
| ☐ Seed Retailer | | \$75.00 |
| | Seed Wholesaler | \$750.00 |
| | Fee Exemption (check this box if any of the following apply): A seed wholesaler or retailer is not required to pay the fee if the wholesaler or retailer • Is selling seeds that were produced by the wholesaler or retailer; • Is selling seeds of vegetables or seeds of flowers at retail in containers of one-half pound or less that comply with NRS 587.097 or 587.101, as applicable; or • Has a gross annual income of less than \$500. A seed wholesaler or retailer seeking to qualify for this exemption shall provide evidence satisfactory to the Department of a gross annual income of less than \$500. | \$0.00 |
| Total amount due: | | = \$ |
| Grand total amount enclosed (sum of nursery section and seed section totals): (To pay by credit card, call 702-668-4590 or pay in person at an NDA office.) | | = \$ |

Or email to:

Nevada Department of Agriculture / Nursery Program

nurserylicensing@agri.nv.gov

2300 E. St. Louis Ave Las Vegas, NV 89104 Phone: 702-668-4590

For nursery-related inquiries, contact:

For seed-related inquiries, contact: Joel Castelan Russell Wilhelm

Phone: 702-668-4588 Phone: 775-353-3711 jrcastelan@agri.nv.gov rwilhelm@agri.nv.gov

| Name of person submitting this application (please print): | | | |
|--|-------|--|--|
| | | | |
| Signature: | Date: | | |