

BRANDS AND LIVESTOCK INSPECTION FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

WHEN DO I NEED A BRAND INSPECTION?

A livestock inspection is required for all transportation of equine and bovine across brand inspection district lines within the state, to leave the state, immediately prior to slaughter of cattle, or coming into Nevada from a brand inspection state.

HOW LONG IS A BRAND RECORDING NOW VALID FOR?

Brand recording periods are five (5) years. Brand recordings are only valid for the recording period in which they were awarded.

WHEN DOES THE NEXT BRAND RECORDING PERIOD BEGIN FOR ALL CURRENT REGISTERED BRANDS?

The current recording period ends Dec. 31, 2022. All current brands will expire unless re-recorded by this date. Re-recording for the next five-year period begins Nov. 2, 2022.

WITH THE NEXT BRAND RECORDING PERIOD STARTING IN 2023, WILL I BE REFUNDED FOR THE YEAR I ALREADY PAID FOR?

No. The brand recording period was redefined by Legislature to begin Jan. 1, 2023 through Dec. 31, 2027. Current recordings will expire Dec. 31, 2022 and will not be prorated.

WHAT IS THE \$35 TRAVEL FEE FOR?

A \$35 travel fee is charged per inspection site per visit to cover the cost of brand inspectors traveling to perform inspections on location.

DO I HAVE TO PAY THE TRAVEL FEE IF I BRING MY HORSE OR CATTLE TO AN NDA OFFICE OR AN INSPECTOR?

No. Head count of 10 or less equine or bovine may be brought to an NDA office or an inspector for an on-vehicle inspection. On-vehicle inspections cannot be conducted for more than 10 animals.

CAN A GROUP BRING LIVESTOCK TO ONE LOCATION TO ELIMINATE THE \$35 TRAVEL FEE FOR EACH LIVESTOCK OWNER?

Yes, one \$35 travel fee per inspection site per visit will only be assessed to the property owner at the location of inspection.

AM I GETTING CHARGED FOR EVERY FIRST HEAD OF LIVESTOCK?

No, fees are assessed per head during brand inspections. See fee schedule for additional information.

DO I HAVE TO PAY FOR THE BRAND INSPECTION FEE IF THE LIVESTOCK ARE NOT ACTUALLY SOLD AT A PUBLIC LIVESTOCK AUCTION OR ANNUAL SALE?

Yes, regardless of a change of ownership, brand inspection fees are charged.

HOW DO I SCHEDULE A LIVESTOCK INSPECTION?

To schedule a livestock inspection call 775-753-1360 or contact your local brand inspector.

CONTACT

Nevada Department of Agriculture 4780 East Idaho Street Elko, NV 89801

775-753-1360

Livestockinspection@agri.nv.gov





LIVESTOCK BRAND RECORDING FEE SCHEDULE

EFFECTIVE MAY 1, 2022

BRAND RECORDINGS

The term "brand" here refers to a brand, or brand and mark, or marks pursuant to NRS 564.120. Brand recording periods are five (5) years. Brand recordings are only valid for the recording period in which they were awarded. The brand recording period was redefined by Legislature to begin Jan. 1, 2023 through Dec. 31, 2027. Current recordings will expire Dec. 31, 2022. Re-recording for the next brand recording period begins Nov. 2, 2022.

PAYMENT INFORMATION

Payment for fees associated with livestock brand recording are due with submission of application via check or by calling 775-753-1360 to pay via credit card.

PERMANENT BRAND RECORDING (INCLUDING TRANSFER OF A BRAND)

Application fee: \$35 nonrefundable (whether awarded or not)

Recording fee: \$200 (refunded if no brand awarded; must not be prorated)

Valid for remainder of current 5-year brand recording period

Brand Recording Application

BRAND RE-RECORDING

Recording fee: \$200 to re-record (must not be prorated)

Valid for remainder of current 5-year brand recording period

NDA online brand renewal system

TEMPORARY BRAND RECORDING FOR OUT-OF-STATE OWNERS OF GRAZING ANIMALS

Application fee: \$35 nonrefundable (whether awarded or not)

Recording fee: \$50 each year recorded or rerecorded annually (must not be prorated)

Valid for 1 year from date of issuance (annually renewable)

Temporary Livestock Brand Permit Application

ABANDONED PERMANENT BRAND RE-RECORDING

Application fee: \$35 nonrefundable (whether awarded or not) + \$30 late fee

Recording fee: \$200 to re-record (refunded if no brand awarded; must not be prorated)

Valid for remainder of current 5-year brand recording period

Brand Recording Application

TRANSFERRING OWNERSHIP OF A RECORDED BRAND

Application fee: \$35 nonrefundable (whether awarded or not)

Recording fee: \$200 to re-record (refunded if no brand awarded; must not be prorated)

Valid for remainder of current 5-year brand recording period

Brand Transfer Application

CONTACT

Nevada Department of Agriculture 4780 East Idaho Street Elko, NV 89801

775-753-1360

Livestockinspection@agri.nv.gov



LIVESTOCK INSPECTION SERVICES FEE SCHEDULE

" EFFECTIVE MAY 1, 2022

All livestock inspections must be visual inspections of the animals made during daylight hours or with adequate lighting under uncrowded conditions where the brand inspector is satisfied that he or she can identify all brands, marks, color and gender. Brands and marks on the animals must be recorded by the brand inspector on the brand inspection clearance certificate.

PAYMENT INFORMATION

Payment for fees noted are due upon the completion of the inspection by check or credit card. If payment is not made in full immediately following the inspection, the NDA will bill the responsible party.

LIVESTOCK INSPECTION SERVICES

(requested at least 24 hours in advance of requested inspection time)

Fees:

- \$1 per head inspection fee for livestock
- \$1 per head for Nevada Beef Council for cattle being sold
- \$5 inspection fee for each horse

Travel fee (when requested at least 24 hours in advance of requested inspection time): \$35 per inspection site per visit

Travel fee (when requested on state holidays or less than 24 hours in advance of requested inspection time): \$35 per inspection site per visit; \$24 per hour for inspector travel to and from inspection site and inspection time; mileage for inspector to and from inspection site per federal GSA rates

Required for change of ownership, travel or slaughter of livestock

INVENTORY INSPECTION OF LIVESTOCK

Fees: \$0.40 per head inspection fee for livestock

Travel fee: \$35 per inspection site per visit; \$24 per hour for inspector travel to and from inspection site and inspection time; mileage for inspector to and from inspection site per federal GSA rates

For inventory of livestock if requested by owner

LIVESTOCK MOVEMENT PERMIT

(allows for in-state movement without repeated livestock inspection)

Fees: \$25 application fee

Valid for current calendar year. Permittee required to carry a form noting logistics during movement and submit to the NDA no more than 10 days after movement of livestock is completed. Only valid for livestock owners or registered brand holders of animals being transported. Non-transferable.

2022 Livestock Movement Permit Application

REGULAR SALES OF LIVESTOCK

Fees (fees assessed regardless of if animal is sold or not):

- \$1 per head inspection fee for livestock
- \$1 per head for Nevada Beef Council for cattle being sold
- \$5 inspection fee for each horse

Required for change of ownership

SPECIAL OR ANNUAL SALE OF LIVESTOCK

Fees (fees assessed regardless of if animal is sold or not):

- \$1 per head inspection fee for livestock
- \$1 per head for Nevada Beef Council for cattle being sold
- \$5 inspection fee for each horse

Travel fee: \$24 per hour for inspector travel to and from inspection site and inspection time; mileage for inspector to and from inspection site per federal GSA rates

Required for change of ownership

HORSE PERMIT – ANNUAL

(allows for movement without repeated livestock inspection)

Fees: \$35 permit fee

Travel fee: \$35 per inspection site per visit

Valid for 1 year from date of issuance. Non-transferable.

HORSE PERMIT – LIFETIME

(allows for movement without repeated livestock inspection)

Fees: \$75 permit fee

Travel fee: \$35 per inspection site per visit

No expiration date. Non-transferable.

EVENT PERMIT FOR ANIMAL USE IN A RODEO, SHOW, FAIR OR OTHER PUBLIC EXHIBITION

(allows for movement without repeated livestock inspection)

Fees: \$50 permit fee

Travel fee: \$35 per inspection site per visit

Valid for 1 year from date of issuance

CONTACT

To schedule a livestock inspection call 775-753-1360 or contact your local brand inspector.

Nevada Department of Agriculture 4780 East Idaho Street Elko, NV 89801

Livestockinspection@agri.nv.gov