Paying annual livestock assesment online

Frequently Asked Questions



Nevada NDA Department

of Agriculture

What is the yearly per head assessment of livestock?

Owners of livestock are required by state law to declare their livestock yearly and pay a minimal per head assessment to help support the livestock inspection program. Although administered by the Nevada Department of Agriculture (NDA), this program was put in place by livestock owners during the 1961 Nevada Legislature for the protection of their livestock and is funded by inspection fees and assessments. To keep the fees as low as possible, owners must declare and pay for their livestock.

How do I renew every year?

To streamline the process, the NDA only accepts online livestock assessment renewal. Here's how to renew online:

- 1. Open your web browser and visit https://nv.certifyag.com/headtax/.
- 2. Log in using your livestock assessment number (LA#) and livestock pass code to retrieve your record (provided in the renewal letter mailed to you in July).
- 3. Update your contact information (most fields are required, and the form will not work if required fields are left blank) and click "save and continue."
- 4. Enter your average number of livestock (if no animals were present in Nevada for an animal type, please enter zero in the field) and the number of months spent in Nevada.
- 5. Pay online with an e-check (an electronic version of a paper check, which can be used by anyone with a checking account) or credit card number.
- 6. Print your receipt for your records.

Should you have trouble with the online renewing process, be sure to follow the link for the step-bystep guide, available at the website listed above.

Is there a minimum fee?

If total assessment is between \$0 and \$10, Nevada Revised Statute (NRS) Chapters 575.185 and 562.170 require a minimum payment of \$10, unless you only raise sheep (in that case your minimum payment is \$5).

What happens if I don't pay on time?

Per NRS Chapter 575.130, all livestock assessments must be paid within 30 days of notification or a \$5 late fee will be charged and brand inspections will be denied. Renewal notices are sent out in July.

Are there any other livestock taxes I should be aware of?

Under NRS Chapters 575, 561 and 567, the NDA has authority to collect certain special taxes on livestock. These special taxes include:

- livestock assesment tax, which helps support brand inspection, livestock and theft investigations and animal health issues; and
- sheep and goat predatory animal control tax, which helps support the predatory animal damage control program.



Contact

NDA Elko office



775-753-1360

fivestockinspection@agri.nv.gov

Nevada Department of Agriculture 4780 East Idaho Street • Elko, NV 89801