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    DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE 
 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR APPLYING FOR 
LIVESTOCK/ AGRICULTURE PRODUCT DEALERS LICENSE 

 
1. Complete the application, sign and date.  Please include your Date of Birth, 

Social Security Number or Federal Tax ID Number and your Estimated 
Annual Volume of Purchase. If a question is not applicable to your situation, 
write in N/A. DO NOT leave any questions unanswered.  

 
Complete the financial statement on the last page of the application, or attach 
a current financial statement from your accounting firm. 
 
Complete the Child Support Statement required by N.R.S. 425.395.  In the 
case of a corporation, a separate statement must be signed by each agent. 
 
Complete the Appointment Form and have it notarized.  The Appointment 
form allows the Director of Nevada State Department of Agriculture to accept 
civil process. 

      
2. BONDING REQUIREMENTS 
 

Registered Livestock/Agriculture Product Dealers (Interstate Commerce) 
 
Livestock Dealers: Submit a copy of your surety bond filed with the USDA, 
Packers and Stockyards Administration. The amount of the bond will be 
established by the Packers and Stockyards Administration based on the 
applicants’ annual volume of purchase but in no case must the bond be less that 
$10,000.00 as established by Nevada Revised Statute. Packers & Stockyards 
telephone 303 375-4241. 
Agriculture Product Dealers:  Submit a surety bond (original) or other security 
agreement issued by a surety company, in no case less than $10,000.00 as 
established by Nevada Revised Statute. 
 
Livestock/Agriculture Product Dealer (operating solely within the State of 
Nevada) 
Submit a surety bond (original) or other security agreement issued by a surety 
company doing business in Nevada in the amount based on the formula used by 
the Packers and Stockyards Administration, but in no case less than $10,000.00 
as established by Nevada Revised Statute. 
 

http://silver.state.nv.us/


 
 
Livestock/Agriculture Product Cash Buyer 
 
A License and bond is not required for doing business in Nevada on a cash 
basis.  A license is required if Livestock/Agriculture Product are resold within 60 
days (NRS 576.0165).  All transactions must be made in lawful money of the 
United States or by certified check. 
 
Public Livestock Auction 
 
A person or company wishing to hold a Public Livestock Auction in this State 
must be licensed by the Department.  If the licensee buys or sells in interstate 
commerce, on a commission basis, a surety bond or other trust agreement must 
be filed with the U.S.D.A. Packers and Stockyards Administration.  Surety bonds 
must be in favor of the State of Nevada. A public livestock auction must maintain 
a line of credit of $400,000.00 or more, effective July 1, 2015.  
 
Bond equivalents such a Trust Agreements with Letters of Credit or Trust Fund 
Agreements may name the Nevada Department of Agriculture as trustee. 
(N.R.S. 573.035) The amount of bond will be determined by the annual volume 
of business or first time estimate, but must not be less than $10,000.00. 
 
If a Timed Certificate of Deposit is used as the bond, it must be payable to the 
licensee and the Nevada Department of Agriculture. The original certificate will 
be held by the Department for a minimum of one year. 

 
3. Any licensee may be represented by a licensed agent(s).  Please include his/her 

Date of Birth, Social Security Number and your Estimated Annual Volume 
of Purchase. A member of a firm or officer of a corporation must sign in the 
Endorsement section of the form. All agents’ licenses are made to expire on the 
same date as the licensee regardless of when the agent’s license was issued.  
Agents will receive identification cards. 

 
4. Fees 

 
Dealer’s License                $100.00 
Agent’s License      $  25.00 
Public Livestock Auction License              $150.00 
 

 Make check payable to Nevada Department of Agriculture and mail to: 
    

Nevada Department of Agriculture 
Division of Livestock Identification 

405 South 21st Street 
Sparks, NV 89431 

(775) 353-3601 


