### Producer and Vendor Certificates FAQs

Division of Plant Health and Compliance



Recent changes in regulation (as of Jan. 1, 2016) require farmers to have a certificate to sell their farm products. Listed on each certificate is the location of the farm, crops grown, amounts harvested and harvest seasons for each crop. Both producer certificates and produce vendor certificates are issued by the Nevada Department of Agriculture (NDA) under the authority of Nevada Revised Statute (NRS) 576.128.

### What is a producer certificate?

Producer certificates are used to verify that farmers are selling crops of their own production. Producer certificates are required for honey, eggs of domestic poultry and all crops produced in Nevada in their natural and unprocessed state.

### What is a produce vendor certificate?

A produce vendor certificate is required in Nevada to sell produce not grown by that vendor or produce that is grown in another state and brought into Nevada for sale. If you hold a valid Nevada producer certificate, a produce vendor certificate is not required. However, if you sell produce that you did not grow, federal law requires records are maintained to trace a product to its previous source.

### Why is it required?

Producer and produce vendor certificates are required to improve traceability of food grown and sold in Nevada. This required traceability will ensure all Nevada operations are in compliance with the rules set forth by the FDA's Food Safety Modernization Act (FSMA), passed in 2011.

# Can I use a producer or produce vendor certificate for processed products like jams and salsas?

Producer and produce vendor certificates are only issued for raw, unprocessed agricultural products. Refer to NRS 446.866 and **agri.nv.gov/craftfoods** for more information about processed products and cottage foods.

### Can eggs be listed on producer certificates?

A producer certificate must be obtained for the direct sale of eggs. Your local health department may also require an additional permit or license to sell eggs.

# Do I need a producer certificate to sell plants at armers market?

No, but you must have a nursery stock dealer license issued by the NDA to sell plants anywhere in Nevada.

## My operation is USDA certified organic, do I need a producer certificate?

No, the organic certification provides traceability, so a producer certificate is not needed. However, if you are selling organic goods that you did not grow, federal law requires records to be maintained to trace the product to its previous source.

### How do I get a producer or vendor certificate?

Applications link can be found on the NDA's website. Producer certificates require an on-site inspection of the growing area (when the crops are growing in the ground). Once the inspection is completed, a certificate will be issued. Produce vendor certificates do not require an inspection.

### How much does it cost?

Currently, the cost for each certificate is \$50 for the first year and \$30 to renew.

### Do I have to renew my certificate every year?

Yes, to remain valid with the state and in compliance with the FSMA, certification renewal is required each year. Certified producers and produce vendors will receive a renewal notice from the NDA when due. Certification period is from April to March of the following year.

#### Contact

Division of Plant Health and Compliance

**775-353-3744** 

\*NVProducers@agri.nv.gov

Nevada Department of Agriculture 405 S. 21st Street • Sparks, NV 89431