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What is a produce vendor certificate?
A produce vendor certificate is required in Nevada to sell 
produce not grown by that vendor or produce that is grown 
in another state and brought into Nevada for sale. If you 
hold a valid Nevada producer certificate, a produce vendor 
certificate is not required. However, if you sell produce that 
you did not grow, federal law requires records are maintained 
to trace a product to its previous source.

Why is it required?
Produce vendor certificates are required to improve 
traceability of food sold in Nevada in compliance with the 
rules set forth by the FDA’s Food Safety Modernization Act 
(FSMA), passed in 2011.

Can I use a produce vendor certificate for processed 
products like jams, salsas or pickled items?
Produce vendor certificates are only issued for raw, 
unprocessed agricultural products, honey and eggs. Please 
refer to NRS 446.866 and agri.nv.gov/craftfoods for more 
information about processed products and cottage foods 
operations.

Do I need a produce vendor certificate to sell plants at 
a farmers market?
No, but you must have a nursery stock dealer license issued 
by the NDA to sell plants anywhere in Nevada. Visit 
agri.nv.gov/nursery for more information. 

MORE INFORMATION
} agri.nv.gov/producer_certificate
CONTACT
}	 Diego Lozada, Agriculturist
	 ' 775-353-3677 8 dlozada@agri.nv.gov

Recent changes in regulation (as of Jan. 1, 2016) make it a requirement for vendors to have a certificate to sell produce, honey 
and eggs. Each certificate will list the products sold by the vendor and must be displayed in a highly visible location at the 
point of sale. Produce vendor certificates are issued by the Nevada Department of Agriculture (NDA) under the authority of 
Nevada Revised Statute (NRS) 576.128.

How do I get a produce vendor certificate?
Applications can be found on the NDA’s website. Produce 
vendors should list all products that may be offered for sale 
during the year the certificate is valid. Produce vendors may 
also apply to amend existing certificates using the application 
found on the website. Failure to obtain a produce vendor 
certificate will result in an order to stop sale and may result 
in loss of product.

How much does it cost?
Currently, the cost for each certificate is $50 for the first year 
and $30 to renew.

Do I have to renew my certificate every year?
Yes, to remain valid with the State and in compliance with the 
FSMA, certification renewal is required each year. Certified 
producers and produce vendors will receive a renewal notice 
from the NDA when due.

I have received a copy of the Nevada Department of Agriculture’s Produce Vendor Certificate Requirements and a produce 
vendor application. I understand that per NRS 587.1285, I must obtain a certificate in order to sell produce in the state of 
Nevada and that failure to do so will result in an order to stop sale and may result in loss of product.

Vendor Information

Address:

Name:

Phone Number:

Signature of Vendor: Date:

Farm Name:

http://agri.nv.gov/craftfoods
http://agri.nv.gov/nursery
http://agri.nv.gov/producer_certificate
mailto:dlozada%40agri.nv.gov?subject=


 
 
Nevada Produce Vendor Certificate Application 
Plant Industry Division 
 

 
 
   

 
page  |  1 

4545-3704-ProCert 

This application is to verify that the applicant listed below has obtained certification as a vendor of the produce 
listed. Please include all produce you anticipate offering for sale in the next 12 months. Certificates are valid 12 
months from process date. A $50.00 fee must be sent with this application to the department address below. If you 
would like to pay by credit card, please call 775-353-3670. The certificate will be issued once the application and 
fee are received. It takes at least 10 working days to process the certificate, so please plan ahead.   
 

The certificate must be prominently displayed at all times product is displayed or offered for sale.  Federal 
Law requires records be maintained that allow for product to be traced to the previous source.   
 

This application is for a  New Certificate    I want to add produce to a certificate I already have 
(No fee required to amend existing certificate) 
 

Applicant Name: ___________________________ Business Name:______________________________________ 
Mailing Address: ______________________________ City: _________________ State: _______ Zip: _________    
Phone: ______ ______________ Fax: ______ ______________ Email: _______________________    
Anticipated date of first sale this year: _____________________ 
  

 Commodity  Commodity 
1  19  
2  20  
3  21  
4  22  
5  23  
6  24  
7  25  
8  26  
9  27  
10  28  
11  29  
12  30  
13  31  
14  32  
15  33  
16  34  
17  35  
18  36  

Attach additional pages if necessary 
 

 Check here if you would like your produce vendor certificate emailed to you. Enter email address above. 

 

RETURN APPLICATION AND $50.00 FEE TO: 
Nevada Department of Agriculture/Produce Vendor Certificates 405 South 21st Street, Sparks, NV 89431 

Questions? Call (775) 353-3677 or email dlozada@agri.nv.gov 

I have reviewed this application and certify that the information provided is true and correct. I further understand that the 
produce vendor’s certificate issued to me cannot be used to claim or imply that I am the actual producer of an agricultural 
product I did not produce (NAC 576.800). I understand that misuse of a produce vendor’s certificate may result in the 
suspension or revocation of the certificate (NAC 576.820).  Federal Law requires records be maintained that allow for 
product to be traced to the previous source.   
 

______________________________________________________    ______________________ 
Applicant Signature     Date 
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