Statutory Authority - SB 305

Regulatory Authority - Department

NAC----- Applicant Applicant means a person residing in Nevada who is applying to grow or cultivate
industrial hemp in a pilot or research program and who is:

a. Representing the Department of Agriculture, or

b. Representing a Nevada institution of higher education as defined in statute, or
Contracted with the Department of Agriculture or a Nevada Institution of higher education to
conduct the pilot or research project on their behalf.

NAC----- Application Each applicant seeking to certify and register a agricultural pilot program shall
submit an application as provided by the Department, including all of the information deemed
appropriate by the Department.

NAC ----- Requirements To be a certified agricultural pilot program registered by the Department, the
applicant agrees:

a. That any information obtained by the Department may be publicly disclosed and provided to
law enforcement agencies without further notice to the applicant/registrant

b. That the Department may inspect and sample as the Department deems necessary and will have
unrestricted access to all plants, growing or harvested, all land, buildings and other structures
used for cultivation or storage and all documents and records pertaining to the pilot program.

c. That the applicant/registrant shall pay for any sampling and analysis costs the Department
deems necessary. Samples may be taken at the Department’s discretion. A sample test result
greater than 0.3% THC will be considered to be conclusive evidence that the registrant is out of
compliance with this act. Upon the receipt of such a test result, the Department may revoke the
certification and order the destruction of the plant materials at the applicant/registrant
expense.

d. That the applicant/registrant shall submit all reports by the required due dates specified in the
certification

e. That the applicant has not been convicted of any felony related to the possession, production,
sale, or distribution of a controlled substance in any form in this or any other country within 10
years of the date of the application.

That the applicant will provide a current law enforcement background check.

g. That an application for the certification of a pilot program must describe a research purpose

regarding the growth, cultivation or marketing of industrial hemp.



NAC ----- Fees 1. The applicant shall pay a nonrefundable application fee of $500.00 and, if certified, an
additional fee of $5.00 per acre or portion thereof.

2. Indoor operations shall pay a nonrefundable application fee of $500.00 and, if certified, 33 cents per
1000 square feet or portion thereof.

NAC ----- Costs for inspections The applicant shall pay a fee not to exceed $50.00 per hour per
inspector for drive time, inspections and sampling. Mileage will be charged at the current IRS
Reimbursement rate.

NAC ----- Mandatory Testing The Department shall be notified by the grower prior to any harvest or
any other form of disposition of the growing crop. In a timely manner, the Department shall conduct a
THC content analysis using appropriate sampling and analysis protocols.

NAC ----- Cost of Analysis The Department may charge a fee for any analysis which it conducts. Analysis
fees must be set in an amount that approximates the cost to the Department of performing those
services or activities.

1. A certified hemp research project must use certified seed.

2. An applicant may request that the Department import certified seed.

3. Ifthe Department agrees to request the importation of seed, the applicant agrees that:

a. The Department is not liable for and does not warrant that the seed is fit for any purpose, and

b. The applicant will pay in advance 100% of the costs associated with the importation of such
seed, plus $1.00 per pound of seed, and

c. Any seed that is not used will become the property of the Department without charge or
reimbursement required.

NAC ----- Civil Penalties 1. For any violation of the provisions of this chapter, or of the Agricultural Pilot
Program certification, the applicant/registrant may be subject to a civil penalty not to exceed:

a. For the first violation $250.00
b. For a second violation $500.00
c. For each subsequent violation $1000.00

2. Any money collected from the imposition of a civil penalty pursuant to section 1 must be accounted
for separately and:



a. fifty percent of the money must be used to fund a program selected by the Director that provides
loans to persons who are engaged in agriculture and are 21 years of age or younger; and

b. The remaining fifty percent of the money must be deposited in the Account for the Control of
Weeds established by NRS 555.035.



