
NEVADA DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
FURLOUGH LEAVE

POLICY #AG-1-HR-4

PURPOSE:

This policy establishes procedures for employees and supervisors, in regard to the use of 
furlough leave, to include guidelines and explanation of the requirements and conditions 
in an effort to ensure understanding and statutory compliance.

POLICY:

It is the policy of the Department of Agriculture to ensure all employees of the 
department use and report the required hours of furlough leave in a responsible and 
informed manner.  All employees and supervisors will receive a copy of this policy and 
are expected to follow the procedures and requirements set forth within.

SCOPE:

This policy applies to all departmental employees, unless specifically exempted by the 
Board of Examiners.

REFERENCES:

Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) 284.065 and 284.345; Nevada Administrative Code 
(NAC) 284.531 and Nevada Employee Action and Timekeeping System (NEATS).

FORM:

As currently provided by the Division of Human Resource Management (DHRM), 
NEATS and Department of Agriculture.

RESPONSIBILITY:

1. Agency Human Resource Services (AHRS) shall be responsible for  :
a. Providing assistance to supervisors and employees in the interpretation 

and explanation of this policy and NAC 584.531.

2. Each Division Administrator is responsible for  :
a. Ensuring that their division employees and supervisors comply with this 

policy and that no exceptions are granted to this policy unless written 
approval is granted by the Director and/or the Board of Examiners.

b. Providing a quarterly report to the Director that reflects Division 
compliance with this policy.
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3. Supervisors are responsible for  :
a. Working with each employee to jointly determine, in advance, a schedule 

for taking furlough leave during the fiscal year.
b. Ensuring all employees are taking unpaid furlough leave in compliance 

with state regulations and department policy.  

4. Employees are responsible for  :
a. Working with the supervisor to jointly determine, in advance, a schedule 

for taking the required furlough leave during the fiscal year.
b. Monitoring their time to ensure they have taken the required hours of 

furlough leave in compliance with state regulations and department policy.

PROCEDURES:

Use of Leave:

1. A furlough is the placement of an employee on leave without pay.  While in 
furlough status, employees will not receive any type of pay, such as base, added 
regular time pay, overtime, compensatory time, salary adjustment (5%), shift 
differential, catastrophic leave, or any other type of compensation.

2. Overtime pay, compensatory time earned, or added regular time (for part-time 
employees) shall not be allowed in the same workweek as unpaid furlough leave 
unless approved in advance by the Administrator of the DHRM and the Director 
of the Department of Administration or their designated representatives.

3. A full-time employee, unless exempted by the Board of Examiners, is required to 
take the equivalent of 4 hours of furlough leave for each full month in the fiscal 
year.

4. Part-time and intermittent employees, unless exempted by the Board of 
Examiners, must take the equivalent of the portion of 4 hours of furlough leave 
for each full month in the fiscal year that is proportional to the average number of 
hours worked.

5. No employee may take more than 12 hours of furlough in a workweek.

6. Furlough time should be taken in no less than 1 hour increments, except as is 
necessary to reduce furlough in a week where other pay status requires an 
adjustment, i.e. overtime worked, or as otherwise directed by the appointing 
authority.  Example:  An employee takes 1 hour of furlough on a Monday and 
works 30 minutes over their scheduled shift on Friday of the same pay week; the 
furlough time needs to be reduced to 30 minutes that week, and the employee now 
needs to record the other 30 minutes of furlough in another workweek.
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7. Employees that are exempt from receiving overtime must take unpaid furlough   
leave in increments of not less than 8 hours.

8. Overtime exempt employees must be mindful of the fact that during the week in   
which furlough leave is taken, the employee is paid on an hourly basis.  A full-
time employee must not work more than 32 hours in the week in which they take 
an 8 hour furlough leave.

a. If a situation arises in the week in which a furlough day is taken and the 
exempt employee must work more than the 32 hours, the furlough time 
must be reduced.

b. Additionally, if leave is taken in the same week as furlough that is less 
than a full work day, it must also be reported.  Example:  The exempt 
employee has a furlough on Monday and on Wednesday he has a dental 
appointment that takes 2 hours; he must report the two hours of sick leave. 

c. If an exempt employee takes furlough in a holiday week and then needs to 
work on a holiday, then the furlough leave must be changed to annual 
leave to prevent holiday premium pay liability.

9. No work of any kind may be performed during the time to be considered in   
unpaid furlough status.  This includes work at home, monitoring e-mails, 
telephone messages, and responding to inquiries from work.

a. Any requirement for the employee to work on a furlough day will result in 
the employee’s time being adjusted.

b. If an employee takes furlough leave and subsequently needs to work 
additional hours, the employee will adjust days or hours worked. 
Example: 8 hours of furlough is taken on Monday and 6 hours are worked 
the following Saturday; the employee will reduce the furlough leave to 2 
hours on Monday and record 6 straight time hours on Saturday.  In this 
situation, an employee, including exempt employees, will need to have a 
signed variable workweek agreement on file.

10. Paid leave time may not be substituted for a furlough leave day   (e.g., an employee 
is scheduled for a furlough day and becomes ill, the furlough cannot be changed 
to reflect sick leave).  Furlough leave may not be substituted when an employee 
does not have sufficient accrued sick leave or annual leave to cover an absence 
unless pre-approved by the employee’s supervisor.  Furlough leave may not be 
substituted for AWOL hours.

11. Employees who are on extended leave are not exempt from the requirement to   
take furlough leave.  Therefore, an employee on catastrophic leave, FMLA leave, 
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administrative leave, or workers’ compensation leave is also required to record the 
appropriate amount of furlough leave.

12. Using furlough leave to “fill in” periods of tardiness will not be permitted under 
any circumstances.  A last-minute request to use furlough in order to leave early 
for the day will be at the discretion of the employee’s supervisor, and approval 
will depend upon workload and staffing.

13. To ensure appropriate staffing levels are maintained while also ensuring furloughs 
are taken, the supervisor may require an employee to take furlough leave at a 
specific day or at a specific time, or both.

14. Supervisors and Division Administrators should ensure an employee makes every 
effort to reduce their excess annual leave to prevent forfeiture or payment of 
excess annual leave and also use the appropriate amount of unpaid furlough leave.

Beginning/Ending Dates of Furlough Requirement:

1. Transfers In and New Hires  :
a. The requirement to take furlough leave begins the first full month of 

employment (e.g., an employee beginning employment on July 1st will be 
required to take furlough in July; if employment begins on July 2nd, the 
employee’s first furlough begins in August).

b. The amount of furlough time an employee has to take upon hire or transfer 
is determined as follows:  the requirement for a full-time employee will be 
equivalent to 4 hours per month (48 hours in a fiscal year).  An employee 
beginning work on August 15th, would start a furlough requirement in 
September (removing July & August) and be required to take 40 hours for 
the remaining fiscal year (part-time employees would take a proportionate 
amount of time).

c. If an employee transfers from another state agency, he or she would only 
be responsible for taking the remaining amount of furlough leave not 
taken at the previous agency.

2. Transfers Out or Terminated Employees  :
a. An employee who is transferring out or terminating may have taken a 

furlough day prior to his or her last day of employment.  The employee 
will not be reimbursed for the amount represented by the furlough leave, 
even if the employee only worked for a partial month as no work was 
performed during furlough leave.

b. If an employee leaves a position prior to taking furlough leave for the 
period, the position must remain vacant a sufficient period of time to 
achieve the corresponding amount in salary savings.

4



c. If an employee transfers to a different agency and has already taken the 
appropriate amount of furlough leave for the period, the employee will not 
be required by the receiving agency to take additional furlough leave in 
the same period.

Approval/Documentation:

1. Furlough leave must be requested and approved prior to being taken.  The 
employee will submit the furlough requests through NEATS by using the Leave 
Request link.

2. The supervisor approves the request in NEATS, after ensuring the request will not 
create: a) conflict with the employee’s reporting hours (not to exceed 40 hours in 
week furlough is taken); or b) problems with workload or staffing.

3. To ensure staffing levels and ensure that furloughs are taken, the appointing 
authority may require adjustments to the employee’s request.

4. Any adjustments to the employee’s request or changes in the furlough scheduled 
should be documented in NEATS.

5. All supervisors should track and document furlough time scheduled for all 
employees under their supervision.

Reporting:

1. Furlough leave will be reported by the employee in NEATS.  The employee must 
report the furlough hours taken as outlined in this policy, coded as (UFRLO).

2. The Division Administrator will provide a quarterly report to the Director that 
reflects Division compliance with this policy.  This report will show 
documentation that adequate amounts of furlough are being taken quarterly by 
each employee and that a plan to take furlough leave is in place to ensure that 
employees are systematically reducing their furlough leave requirement.
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Furlough Leave Considered Time Worked on All Other Employee Accounts:

Except for payment of salary and determination of overtime, or if otherwise provided by 
any regulations that may be adopted by the Personnel Commission, an employee who is 
on furlough leave is considered to have worked that day or portion of a day, as applicable, 
for all other purposes and programs dealing with the employee, including but not limited 
to those listed in a through h below:

a. Accrual of sick and annual leave;

b. Determining an employee’s pay progression date;

c. Continuity of service and years of service relative to the longevity pay 
program;

d. Duration of a probationary period;

e. Determining eligibility for holiday pay;

f. Seniority for all purposes, including layoffs;

g. The Public Employees’ Benefits Program; and

h. The Public Employees’ Retirement System

Since there is no reduction in retirement benefits due to furloughs, employees on the 
employee/employer compensation schedule shall be required to pay their portion of 
retirement for the unpaid furlough leave taken in a pay period.  This amount will be 
deducted along with the regular retirement contribution on the employee’s paycheck.

Unpaid furlough leave will be counted as time worked for the purpose of determining 
eligibility under the Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA).  Unpaid furlough leave 
taken during the time an employee is on FMLA leave will not be counted against the 
employee’s 12-week FMLA entitlement.

Consequences of Non-Compliance:

Every classified and unclassified employee is subject to unpaid furlough leave regardless 
of type of appointment or funding source of position.

Any employee refusing to take the unpaid furlough leave, will be required to take specific 
time off as designated by the appointing authority, and will be subject to disciplinary 
action.  Additionally, failure to comply with or disregarding the provisions of this policy 
may result in disciplinary action.
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Any exception request which deviates from this policy must be submitted to the Director 
30 days in advance, as far as practicable.

POLICY COMMUNICATION:

All employees within the Department of Agriculture will receive a copy of this policy and 
will sign an acknowledgement that they have read and understand the conditions within. 
Employees needing clarification should contact an AHRS or DHRM representative for 
more information.  Any employee that refuses to sign the acknowledgement may be 
subject to disciplinary action.

DIRECTOR’S POLICY AUTHORIZATION:

________________________________________ ________________________
Jim R. Barbee, Director Date

APPROVED BY THE BOARD OF AGRICULTURE ON 
                                                                                                    .

Effective Date

This policy is not a substitute for relevant law or regulation nor does it establish  
additional rights beyond those provided in law and regulation.  This policy is intended to  
be used in conjunction with the state law and the Rules for State Personnel  
Administration (NRS & NAC 284).
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